Skip to product information
1 of 5


Truman Capote - A Tree Of Night

Truman Capote - A Tree Of Night

Regular price $12.00 AUD
Regular price Sale price $12.00 AUD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
"A Tree of Night" is a collection of short stories by Truman Capote, published in 1949. This collection marks one of Capote's early forays into fiction writing, and it showcases his talent for crafting evocative and atmospheric narratives.

The stories in "A Tree of Night" vary in theme and setting but share a common thread of exploring the darker and more mysterious aspects of human existence. Some of the notable stories in the collection include:

1. **"Jug of Silver"**: This story revolves around a young girl's encounter with a mysterious and alluring circus performer. It delves into themes of innocence and temptation.

2. **"My Side of the Matter"**: This satirical and humorous tale features a character named Appleseed who returns to his hometown in the rural South and becomes entangled in a family feud.

3. **"The Headless Hawk"**: Set in New York City, this story follows a woman's strange obsession with a photograph of a headless hawk. It explores the theme of urban alienation.

4. **"A Tree of Night"**: The title story is a dreamlike narrative that captures the disorienting and surreal experience of a young woman as she navigates a nocturnal world filled with strange encounters and sensations.

Truman Capote's "A Tree of Night" showcases his early talent for crafting short fiction that combines elements of Southern Gothic and psychological exploration. While it may not be as well-known as some of his later works, it provides readers with a glimpse into the evolution of his literary style and his fascination with the mysteries of the human psyche.
View full details